Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility RCIS – Conservation Elements - SCCRTC

RCIS – Conservation Elements

Conservation Elements are biological communities, species, and other aspects of the landscape analyzed in a RCIS. Both natural communities and focal species are conservation elements in the Santa Cruz County Resource Conservation Investment Strategy (SCCRCIS).

A RCIS is intended to have two main types of “conservation elements” (i.e. focal species and other conservation elements),  that will benefit from conservation actions and habitat enhancement actions set forth in a RCIS.

The RCIS guidelines also allow identification of non-focal species: species associated with a focal species or other conservation elements and that will benefit from conservation actions and habitat enhancement actions set forth in a RCIS. Focal species, other conservation elements, and non-focal species, can all benefit through both conservation investments and mitigation credit agreements, many of which will also benefit other rare and locally unique species in Santa Cruz County (co-benefited species).

Approach to the Conservation Elements

The SCCRCIS conservation elements include natural communities, other conservation elements, focal species, non-focal species, and co-benefited species. Section 2.5.2 of the DRAFT SCCRCIS discusses the rationale for their inclusion, and the selection criteria, and relates them to the categories identified in the RCIS Guidelines.

    • Other Conservation Elements14 natural community types were selected to develop a landscape-scale conservation strategy to support both rare and common species, biodiversity, and other conservation values. These are the core elements of the SCCRCIS. 
      • Focuses on conserving a broader suit of native species,
      • Provides ecological foundation for species conservation,
      • Promotes effectiveness of conservation strategies, and
      • Consistent with other conservation planning approaches
      • Habitat connectivity and working lands (i.e., timber, grazing, and cultivated lands) complement the communities-based approach to address other important facets within the landscape.
    • Focal Species: The 7 focal species identified meet the following CDFW criteria:
      • Listed species
      • Wide-ranging species
      • Climate-vulnerable species, and
      • Taxonomic representation
    • Non-focal species: Species that are listed under the federal Endangered Species Act (ESA) or California Endangered Species Act (CESA), and whose conservation needs are addressed through conservation of natural communities, other conservation elements, and focal species.
    • Co-benefited species: Rare species that are not state or federally listed, but that may be recognized under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) or other regulations as sensitive, were categorized in the SCCRCIS as co-benefited species: plants and animals that are not categorized as focal or non-focal but which will benefit from the conservation strategy.


Guidelines for providing public input to the Commission either in person at meetings or via email or letters are included at the end of each Commission agenda. This section of the agenda also includes information about Spanish translation services and access for people with disabilities.

Transportation and Parking
As many meeting venues have limited parking for vehicles, participants are encouraged to carpool, or ride a bike or the bus to meetings. Transit trip planning assistance is available through Google Transit and via Santa Cruz Metro Customer Assistance 425-8600. Personalized trip planning for all modes is offered through Cruz511 or 429-POOL.

Subscribe to our Mailing List

Latest news and up-to-date info delivered to your inbox

Report a Hazard

Notify us of obstacles or hazards that may inhibit travel.

Scroll to Top